St Nicholas Parish Church, Ash near Canterbury, Kent

A Brief History

St Nicholas at Ash was probably built around 1190 AD on the site of an early Saxon building. It was altered in the 14th century, and the central tower was added in the 15th century. The highly visible tower and steeple were once used as navigation aids. They now house a ring of 10 bells. There is a collection of medieval monumental effigies inside, and amongst the brasses there is  one to Jane Kerriel (c 1455) which reveals a unique horse-shoe head-dress.

To read our Historical Guide click HERE.

To read more about the history of Ash and its churches click HERE.

To read more about the bells of St Nicholas Church click HERE.

To hear the bells of St Nicholas Church click HERE (50 seconds).

Family History Enquiries

Parish registers, which contain baptisms, marriages and burials, have been transferred to Canterbury Cathedral Archives; to visit their website please click HERE.

Village History Enquiries

To enquire about village history NOT relating to baptisms, marriages and burials, please click HERE.